West Shore Community College’s Alpha Phi Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society welcomed new members during its annual induction ceremony, on April 4, in the college’s Administrative & Conference Building.

The 77 inductees included, Emily Adams, Morgen Ahlfeld, Makenna Anible, Elizabeth Ansuini, Angeleah Arnold, Abigail Ashley, Grace Ashley, Charles Austin, Jacob Austin, Paige Barbrick, Joshua Berg, Sydney Bialik, Nathan Biggs, Holly Bowen, Brenden Brady, Christopher Brien, McKenzie Crowder, Evan Dalke, Genesis Davis, Dylan Eaton, Abby Fay, Jaimey Ferguson, Aidan Forrester, Gracyn Ginn, Mary Gregorski, Chase Groh, Rebecca Hanna, Kaitlin Harker, Grace Higley, Abigail Hughes, Shannon Huizenga, Asher Johnson, Bobby Johnson, Isaac Johnson, Joseph Johnston, Dennis Kenny, Allison Kettler, Sarah King, Dylan Laczko, Amber Landers, Melody Leone, William Luce, Jazlyn Madsen, Andrew McGaffigan, Ashley McPike, Nadia Mosqueda, Andrew Mueller, Lauren Niedzielski, Luke Niedzielski, Riley Priemer, Ashley Ramirez, Julie Richards, Anna Roberson, Shayna Schwartz, Christina Seymour, Ann Short, Claire Shoup, Ella Smith, Tanner Soelberg, Lillian Stauffer, Amelia Stewart, Samantha Stilson, Shelby Stimes, Kelsey Sullivan, Emma Teske, Audrey Timinskis, April Tomlinson, Avery Vaas, Brandon VanderZanden, Anna VanDuinen, Andrew Vaquera, Maygan Vasquez, Zoe Voss, Baden Webster, Levi Webster, Alaina White, Chelsea Wolbers.

Scott Ward, WSCC president and the keynote speaker during the ceremony, stated, “Leadership, much like the spring rains, has the power to invigorate and revitalize our communities. It empowers you to lead by example, to inspire others, and to effect positive change in the world around us. As PTK members, you are called to be leaders who guide with integrity, compassion, and vision.”

Chapter advisor, Dr. Wendy Wells, thanked President Ward for paying the one-time registration fee to join PTK for all initiates for the fourth year in a row. President Ward started this tradition in 2021 because he didn’t want the fee to be a barrier that kept students from joining the organization.

PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students and provides an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, fellowship among scholars, and continuing academic excellence.

Members are eligible to receive some of more than $37 million in scholarships provided exclusively for PTK members. Members in the United States are also eligible to participate in the All-USA Academic Team program, co-sponsored by USA Today, and by extension their own state-wide academic teams. Members also receive automatic nominations to the National Dean’s List and job postings exclusively for Phi Theta Kappans.

More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually.

WSCC launched a PTK chapter in 1992, and through chapter and individual projects, members continue to serve the college and community.