Tuition & Fees
Fall 2022, Winter 2023 & Summer 2023
In-District $115/contact hour* Non-District $180/contact hour* Non-Michigan $255/contact hour** Contact hours are calculated on the number of hours per week of instruction for a course, to include laboratory and/or studio hours. Student Fee, Per Semester *Current fees (effective July 1, 2022) Student Services Fee per contact hour: $22.50 (maximum of $450.00).
Fall 2023, Winter 2024 & Summer 2024
In-District $120/contact hour* Non-District $185/contact hour* Non-Michigan $265/contact hour** Contact hours are calculated on the number of hours per week of instruction for a course, to include laboratory and/or studio hours. Student Fee, Per Semester *Current fees (effective July 1, 2023) Student Services Fee per contact hour: $24 (maximum of $480.00).
Some course require the payment of an additional fee to defray costs of supplies and materials. Tuition and fees as well as bookstore and other purchases may be charged to Visa, MasterCard, or Discover. Tuition and fees are subject to change by the Board of Trustees.
Senior Citizen Tuition Waver
Residents of the College district who are 60 (sixty) years of age or older will be provided upon registration with a waiver of tuition charges. This waiver applies to tuition only and not to other charges, such as admission and lab fees. Proof of age and residency must be shown on the first registration for which the waiver applies.
Tuition and Second Resident
Non-residents of the College district who own and pay property taxes on a second residence within the district and dependents (claimed as an exemption on the parents’ most recent federal income tax return) of such property owners may receive a tuition credit once a calendar year. This credit cannot exceed the differential between the resident and non-resident tuition rates or the amount of property taxes paid in support of the College, whichever is the lesser. The credit will be applied at the time of course registration, upon presentation to the Registrar of a property tax receipt delineating property tax paid for most recent calendar year. A copy of the parents’ most recent federal income tax return is also required for dependents.
Veterans Tuition Rate
Any individual using educational assistance under either Chapter 30 (Montgomery GI Bill® – Active Duty Program), Chapter 31 (Vocational Rehabilitation), or Chapter 33 (Post-9/11 GI Bill®), of Title 38, United States Code, and/or the Marine Gunnery Sergeant John David Fry Scholarship (38 U.S.C. § 331(b)(9)), all of which as may be amended from time to time, who lives in the State of Michigan while attending the College will be charged the in-district tuition rate regardless of his/her formal state of residence.
Furthermore, an individual using educational assistance under Chapter 31 or Chapter 33, as defined above and as may be amended from time to time, and who has submitted a Certificate of Eligibility to the financial aid office, will not be penalized for his/her inability to meet College financial obligations because of a delayed GI Bill payment. In accordance with the Service members Improved Transition through Reforms for Ensuring Progress Act (SIT-REP), these waived penalties include the assessment of late fees; the denial of access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities; or the requirement of borrowing additional funds, provided that the delay is no longer than 90 days.
Net Price Calculator
The Net Price Calculator is a tool which provides students with an estimate of the costs and assistance at West Shore Community College.
If you use the Net Price Calculator, consider the results are based on a previous year for other students who have already received financial aid. Also, keep in mind that costs and financial aid eligibility change each year.
To help you understand how much college will cost, please use this video.