PTK Chapter Inducts New Members


Bottom left to right: Ashley Smith, Erin Schalow, Jared Knizacky, Emily Hoffmeyer, Linda Hartman, Melanie Drum, Madison Coleman, Dawn Carrier, Katherine Bradford, Sarah Bradford

The Alpha Phi Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society recently held its annual induction ceremony in the North Lounge of West Shore Community College’s Administrative & Conference Center.

The ceremony included speeches by the Chapter President, Brianna Walter, and chapter advisor, Director of Library Services Renee Snodgrass.  The keynote speaker was Dr. Kenneth Urban, president of college.  The reception was followed by the induction of 14 new members.

The newly inducted members are:  Katherine Bradford, Sarah Bradford, Dawn Carrier, Madison Coleman, Melanie Drum, Linda Hartman, Emily Hoffmeyer, Jared Knizacky, Erin Schalow, Lindsay Scheffler, Ashley Smith, Joseph Stuck, Stacie Talsma, and Kendra Walsworth.

During the ceremony Walter said to her fellow students, “I really want you to be proud of yourselves because this is a huge accomplishment, setting you apart from many other students in community colleges. We represent the four pillars, leadership, service, fellowship, and scholarship by holding and supporting many activities based on those key elements to benefit the students, the campus, and even the community.”

She added, “I truly believe becoming a member of Phi Theta Kappa is a significant achievement, and can lead to many wonderful opportunities if you take advantage of them.”

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honors society for two-year colleges, recognizes achievement, offers enrichment activities, provides the opportunity for community service, and gives students a chance to interact within a community of scholars.

Author: Thomas Hawley | Executive Director of College Relations